What is the minimum wage for workers in California? It depends.

| Oct 4, 2018 | Wage & Hour Laws |

There are various wage rights employees generally have here in California. One is the right to be paid at least the minimum wage for their work. What is the minimum wage for a given worker in California? The answer depends on certain factors.


For one, where in California a person works has impacts on this front. There is a general state minimum wage in California. However, counties and cities in the state are allowed to set a higher minimum wage within their borders if they desire. Los Angeles is among the California cities that have done so.

Business size

Also, how big of a company a person works for can matter when it comes to this topic.

For example, for both the California minimum wage and the Los Angeles minimum wage, the amount of the minimum differs between large employers and small employers.

The per-hour state minimum wage is currently $11.00 for businesses with 26 or more workers and $10.50 for companies with 25 or fewer workers. Meanwhile, the general minimums in Los Angeles for these two categories of businesses are currently $13.25 and $12.00.


Minimum wage levels can change over time. Both California and Los Angeles have minimum wage increases scheduled for next year. The state minimum wage will go up on January 1, 2019, while the Los Angeles minimum wage will go up on July 1, 2019.

Understanding your wage rights

As this discussion of minimum wage underscores, what exactly a given California employee’s wage rights are can be affected by a variety of factors. So, when workers have concerns about how their employer is treating them when it comes to wages, it can be important for them to understand what their particular situation means for what their rights are and what they can do to respond to violations of such rights. Workers can reach out to employment lawyers for guidance on this.