As an employee in the state of California, you may come across a situation where you have a reason to believe that you are not getting paid what you deserve. Perhaps you think you are being paid below the minimum wage, that you are owed overtime pay, or are being given less than adequate break times.

If you are concerned that your rights as an employee are not being fulfilled, it is important that you take the time to learn about what you are entitled to in the state of California. By doing this, you will know when it is necessary to take action to enforce your legal rights.

What is the minimum wage in the state of California?

The minimum wage in the state of California is $11 per hour. This means that it is unlawful to pay any employee less than this amount. However, in certain situations, such as in cases where the employee has worked a certain amount of hours in the day, the employer may be legally required to pay more than minimum wage.

When are employers required to pay more than the minimum wage?

When an employee works more than eight hours in any given working day in California, he or she is legally entitled to be paid every hour thereafter at 1.5 times the normal wage. If the employee works for more than 12 hours on any given working day, he or she must be paid at twice the normal working rate for every hour after.

Do all employees in California have the right to meal breaks and rest breaks?

If an employee works for four hours consecutively, he or she is legally entitled to a paid 10 minute rest break. In an ideal situation, this 10 minute rest break will be given in the middle of a working period rather than at the beginning or end. In addition, employees are also entitled to an unpaid 30 minute meal period for every five hours worked.

If you are an employee in California and you are confused about your working rights, it is important that you conduct thorough research to understand the intricacies of the law.